Passing a test of faith with flying colours

11 Jan

I started this blog yesterday, with a desire to inspire and to share testimonies and devotional messages. However, I had no clue what to write as my first post so, I just recycled an old poem of mine that I wrote about my baptism and what it meant to me… just a simple copy and paste.

Anyway, last night I said a prayer. I was awaiting my exam results and they seemed to be taking forever. So, last night I said … I’ve been waiting, hoping  biting my nails off and worrying about whether my sticky note with the hoped for A+‘s was just going to be hopes that never came true, or maybe hopes that almost came to fruition. But, it never occurred to me to pray. I prayed and asked God for my results to be posted today. I also prayed and told God that I would have the faith to believe that I can get A+, or even an A in one of the courses I thought I had failed. I told God in no uncertain terms that I would believe, not because I believe I did well but, because I know He’s my God and He can do absolutely anything. I told Him my faith may not be that great but I believe it should be enough.

I awoke this morning unable to check my grades for the entire day. Every other day I used to be checking non-stop… impatient… pacing. Today, I relaxed. I had no choice. I didn’t have the convenience of my laptop. So, I relaxed. As soon as I turned on my computer in the evening, lo and behold grades were out, and lo and behold I got an A and an A+.

This may not seem like a big story of healing or a miracle for example, but to me it was a test of faith. I’m not usually very bold when I pray or ask God for anything. I always have some shadow of a doubt that maybe it won’t work out the way I ask, or it may not happen in the time I expect etc. In fact, this morning the thought was creeping in that maybe I was too demanding and that maybe that wasn’t the way to pray. Maybe I shouldn’t be so specific — telling God I want the grade today. Maybe I should have said ‘this week’ or ‘soon’. But, I think God taught me a lesson and also tested my faith.

He taught me that it’s okay to be specific when I ask for things. It’s not my concern that it may not work out. My only concern is that I asked a God who is the Author of time and the Master of everything. He created this world by speaking it into being. He created me in His image, so I too can speak things into being… through Him. (13 And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it. John 14: 13,14). My faith was also tested. I had truly believed I failed that exam when I came out of the examination room. I started to check my paper, hoping to have gained enough marks not to fail. It was a huge test of faith to even think that it could be possible to get an A.

But today I was reminded that my God is an amazing God and that nothing is too great or SMALL to ask of Him. I will never doubt Him and I will continue to pray for an increase in faith and trust in Him knowing that He will answer my prayers, as He always has.Image

One Response to “Passing a test of faith with flying colours”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christspiration – Your Daily Dose of Inspiration | Phenomenal Lady - October 11, 2013

    […] Passing a test of faith with flying colours […]

Feel free to share your thoughts on this post below: